Keep Running Fatty!

You better believe I'm gonna keep running!

Keep Running Fatty!

on January 9, 2012

The other day someone on Twitter said to me: ‘keep running fatty’.  At first I was shocked and upset. “I’m not a fatty!” I thought. Well, ok, maybe a little bit of a fatty. But then I convinced myself, I could be a Size 6, not a size 12/14, and someone would still call me a fatty and try to ruin my day.

I’m not letting it ruin my day…it has inspired me to write…and to keep running.

There is one fact that I can’t deny. I’m not a typical runner. Up until about a year ago I probably would not have classified myself as a ‘runner’. Runners are skinny, lean, and fast…not 190 lbs and chubby.

But this 190-lb ‘fatty’ finished the Disney Marathon almost exactly a year ago. January 9, 2011 was a day that changed my life forever. This ‘fatty’ ran 358 miles in 2011 (via my DailyMile stats). 358 miles?!  Wow – ya, that may classify me as a runner.

I ran the Disney Marathon, Cherry Blossom 10-Miler, Yuengling Shamrock 8K, Marine Corps Historic Half Marathon, Spirit & Breath 5K, Merrell Down & Dirty 5K Mud Run, King George Fall Festival 5K, Richmond HCA 8K, Uniontown Turkey Trot 5K, and the Christmas Town Dash 8K in 2011.

However, I have admittedly slacked off in mileage and have gained 10 lbs over the past year. I was injured for several months after the marathon and had to rest and recover. I never quite got back on track.

I’m not making any more excuses. It’s time to up the mileage, shed some pounds and get faster.

So it’s time to lose some weight and keep running, like a fatty should.

4 responses to “Keep Running Fatty!

  1. Shawn says:

    Love you, Melli!

  2. Remember 2012 is a new year!

    I think a blog is a great idea. I firmly believe you are more likely to complete goals that you talk about, because someone might ask you about it, haha.

    When I saw your tweet about this the other day, I had to chuckle, the first thing that came to mind were all the rednecks in their big Dodge Diesels that yell at me when I run.

    • Thanks, Sara – it certainly is a new year. Yes, I think if I write this blog, I’m publicly accountable to my actions. Hopefully I’ll be making progress and not admitting defeat. LOL @ the rednecks…ya, I’ve had that happen to me too. wierdos!

Leave a Reply

