Keep Running Fatty!

You better believe I'm gonna keep running!

Heading Into Battle

on January 11, 2012

It’s the most wonderful time of the year….for avoiding the gym.

No, it’s not because I feel extremely lazy and all I really want to do is cook some spicy black bean soup and read my Kindle while cuddled under a warm blanket in the early dark frigid evenings of January. It’s because of all those bright, new shiny faces!

You know who you are (you may be one of them!). You are the ones that start your gym membership in January, fresh on the heels of your weight-loss resolution. Brand new workout clothes, shoes, and all the motivation in the world. I do not fault all of these people trying to get back on track and get healthy. I’m thrilled to see new people at the gym….I’m just not thrilled that you took all the treadmills and I got stuck on the elliptical instead.

Going to the gym in January is like heading into battle. One cannot just walk in and start exercising. A strategy, a plan must be made. You have to be ready to grab that first piece of workout equipment as soon as it’s available.

You have to plan for extra time searching for a parking spot. You really should have your bottle of water already filled up, iPod and/or Kindle already in hand, and have your coat/jacket off and ready to hang on the rack (or even better, don’t even bother wearing a jacket. The quicker you have to walk from your car, the more calories burned, right?) You must hurry to the treadmills before someone jumps on the very last one before you!

I am all psyched and ready to go for a run. I spot the last treadmill and make a dash for it….an open treadmill! ‘I made it just in time,’ I think. ‘Yes!’ Then just like that, all of the adrenaline is zapped as I am left staring at an open treadmill with an ‘Out of Service’ sign posted to the front. Bummer.

Such was my luck last night. Elliptical it is. At least I can read my Kindle while working out. That’s the positive. That, and 35 minutes of high-impact cardio cross training. It counts!

Tonight I must follow the advised plan and enter the battle grounds which are the YMCA in January. I will get a treadmill! I will. I must. I must run 3 miles!

One response to “Heading Into Battle

  1. grenon22 says:

    Thats funny I just wrote a article on this same subject , and how it gets annoying with so many people everywhere lol Great read check my blog out if you get the chance. http://anabolicinstinct.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

