Keep Running Fatty!

You better believe I'm gonna keep running!

Losing Motivation and Getting Back at it.

on May 2, 2012

What can I say? I lost my motivation. I trained for and completed the Cherry Blossom 10-Miler…then it was a week-long work trip to San Diego. After that, I was tired, stressed and depressed. My dog is dying and I have been struggling with it…I know now is the time I really need to be running. I’ve started back up again this week. Not sure if I will be ready for the Marine Corps Historic Half on May 20th in Fredericksburg…but I’ll play it by ear.

I’m making more of an effort on trying to drop some pounds before I train for a big race again. I want to get faster and that’s the only way.
Sooo…back at it.

4 responses to “Losing Motivation and Getting Back at it.

  1. tk42one says:

    Motivation ebbs and flows. Don’t push it in either direction and it should balance out. Personally, I use running (among other things) as therapy. It helps me deal with the crappy parts of life and by the end I’m usually happy. Tired, but happy. So hang in there. You’ll swing back to being motivated.

    • Thanks. I know it’s all a part of life – I’m just really struggling with having to put my dog down soon and I let that be an excuse to mope around and just do whatever I wanted. I can’t let this keep going on much longer…but it’s going to get tougher before it gets better. BUT. I’m going to attempt that sloooow 12-miler this weekend (at least I’m telling myself I’m not backing out). I’m going for a short run tonight.

      • tk42one says:

        I feel your pain. We just put our dog down a few months ago and it was rough, especially with the kids. Just like everything else though, you’ll get through it.

  2. At times it can be difficult to stay motivated but when I set short-term goals that are realistic it helps with motivation. Try to enjoy as much time as possible with your dog and hopefully you can stay motivated to keep running.

Leave a Reply

