Keep Running Fatty!

You better believe I'm gonna keep running!

Confessions of a Diet Pepsi Addict

on May 16, 2012

Hi, my name is Melissa and I’m addicted to diet Pepsi.

I guess one could have worse addicitions, right? It’s not a sugary drink with a bunch of extra calories.

I don’t really have a strong desire to give it up, but I’m going to give it a try…at least for a week?

I really don’t know if I can do that. I just want to perform an experiment of sorts. Will giving up the soda for a week give me a boost in weight loss?

I’ve had a few friends who swear they have seen a boost in weight loss after giving it up. I want to try it for myself.

I can do this. I can do this. I can do this?

6 responses to “Confessions of a Diet Pepsi Addict

  1. I’ve read that diet sodas can really cause problems for dieters so it may really help.

    • Ya, I’ve read both. That it does make a difference and that it really doesn’t. I guess it probably depends on the person. Who knows. That’s part of my experiment…I really don’t know if making the switch from Diet Pepsi to Crystal Light is much of an improvement, if it’s artificial sweeteners that are the real culprit.

      • I wasn’t addicted to any diet soda but I did like them and always had something in the fridge. I gave that up and now just have water. Not always as tasty, but I’m saving a $$$ bundle. 🙂

  2. tk42one says:

    I’ve been a Coke addict since I was a kid. Even after years of not drinking it, I can still tell the difference between Coke from the fountain, from a plastic bottle, from a glass bottle, and from a can. Scary. As for how it impacted my weight loss, it didn’t. I switched from regular Coke to Diet Coke to nothing over the span of several years but saw no difference in my weight. But keep in mind, I wasn’t exercising at the time. If anything, my weight probably went up some because I was eating to fill up my stomach instead of drinking.

    Anyway, if you can, quit. There’s all sorts of reports that are pro and con about sodas but if you look at just the basic numbers, they are simply calories in a can. It was seriously hard for me to stop but I eventually got over it. I can drink some now but I’ve noticed some odd side effects. Coke of any sort makes me all sorts of gassy now. Never did before. Coke of any sort makes me sleepy after an hour, likely a sugar crash. Coke from a plastic bottle makes me depressed for a solid 48 hours but Coke from the fountain won’t. Coke during long runs is okay but it needs to be flat or it’ll make me blow up like a blimp.

    Now that I’m over the hard part of quitting, going through detox, and having finally mastered the Coke instead of it mastering me, I can include it in my diet. But only as a treat. In fact, I treat it just like I do a candy bar. I have them sparingly or when it’s my only choice for fluids/fuel. My only exception is during runs/races when I know it’ll help me perform better.

  3. Heather says:

    I’m currently in diet coke rehab. I have one per week. I have replaced my bfast serving with Diet sparkling cran-energy. I still drink other diet, mostly non-caffeine sodas, but I do drink less of it. It hasn’t had an effect on my weight. But, I haven’t been a slave to my habit for 6 weeks or so. Good luck with it.

  4. I used to drink Diet Coke but I read a newspaper article about all the negative benefits and then I gave it up. At first, I would just allow myself one can from time to time. Then about a year ago, I stopped drinking all soda pop. I had some soda pop at Xmas. (Choice between soda and alcohol and being a non-drinker I opted for Cola and regretted it the next day) But so far in 2012 I have had zero soda pop. Really, there are few many benefits in a can/bottle of pop so if you can give it up for a week, then you can try to give it up for good. There are plenty of healthy alternatives.

Leave a Reply

